Coalition of Geospatial Organizations

COGO is a coalition of 13 national professional societies, trade associations and membership organizations in the geospatial field representing more than 170,000 individual producers and users of geospatial data and technology. In addition to NSGIC, members include ASCE, ASPRS, AAG, CAGIS, GISCI, GLIS, IAAO, MAPPS, NSPS, UCGIS, URISA and USGIF.

Designated NSGIC Representatives: 

Jenna Leveille (AZ) - Delegate

Dan Ross (NSGIC) - Alternate

Cy Smith (NSGIC) - Observer


Digital Coast Partnership

Managed by NOAA's Office for Coastal Management, the Digital Coast Partnership joins NSGIC with the APA, ASFPM, Conservancy, CSO, NACo, NERRA and ULI. The Digital Coast Partners work with NOAA to provide tools, training and information to make data relevant to the unique needs of the coastal management community.

Designated NSGIC Representative:

John Jordan (NSGIC)


GIS Certification Institute

Providing the GIS Community with a complete certification program leading to recognition as a Certified GIS Professional (GISP), GISCI offers the industry-wide, internationally recognized, software agnostic certification available to geospatial professionals. Member organizations include AAG, NSGIC, UCGIS, URISA, GITA and GLIS.

Designated NSGIC Representatives:

Jami Dennis (AZ)

Elisabetta (Lis/Beth) DeGironimo (NY)



National Digital Elevation Program (3DEP)

Developed by the USGS, 3DEP responds to the growing needs of high-quality topographic data and a wide range of other three-dimensional representations of the nation's natural and constructed features.

Designated NSGIC Representative:

Abigail Gleason (WA)


National Digital Orthophoto Program Committee 

NDOP was chartered in 1993 as a consortium to develop and maintain national orthoimagery coverage in the public domain by establishing partnerships with federal, state, local, tribal and private organizations. Consortium members include the BLM, FSA, FEMA, NOAA, NSGIC, Census, Forest Service and USGS.

Designated NSGIC Representative:

Tim Ruhren (NY)


National Emergency Number Association 

NENA serves its members and the greater public safety community as the only professional organization solely focused on 9-1-1 policy, technology, operations and education issues.

Designated NSGIC Representatives:

Joe Sewash (VA)


National Information Sharing Consortium 

As an independent consortium, NISC brings together organizations involved in all aspects of homeland security, public safety, emergency management and emergency response. NISC members come together to improve technology and governance related to information sharing.

Designated NSGIC Representative:

Sean McSpaden (OR)


National Tribal Geographic Information Support Center 

NTGISC supports GIS activities across US tribal communities in the fields of agriculture, cultural preservation, emergency management, environmental management, hydrology, public safety, realty, transportation and wildlife management.

Designated NSGIC Representative:

Gar Clarke


Transportation for the Nation 

TFTN was originally a concept put forth by NSGIC in noting the fundamental importance of consistent, current, high-quality road centerline data for the entire country. As the FGDC National Geospatial Data Asset framework "theme leader" for transportation datasets, USDOT may develop a TFTN program focusing on coordination and collaboration to generate nationwide transportation data.

Designated NSGIC Representative:

Jonathan Duran (AR)


American Planning Association (APA) • American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) • American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS) • Association of American Geographers (AAG) • Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM) • Bureau of Land Management (BLM) • Cartography and Geographic Information Society (CAGIS) • Coalition of Geospatial Organizations (COGO) • Coastal States Organization (CSO) • Farm Service Agency (FSA) • Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) • Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) Homeland Infrastructure Foundation Level Data Subcommittee (HIFLD) • Geographic and Land Information Society (GLIS) • GIS Certification Institute (GISCI) • International Association of Assessing Officers (IAAO) • Management Association for Private Photogrammetric Surveyors (MAPPS) • National Alliance for Public Safety GIS Foundation (NAPSG) • National Association of Counties (NACo) • National Digital Orthophoto Program Committee (NDOP) • National Emergency Number Association (NENA) • National Estuarine Research Reserve Association (NERRA) • National Information Sharing Consortium (NISC) • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Office for Coastal Management (OCM) • National Society of Professional Surveyors (NSPS) • National Tribal Geographic Information Support Center (NTGISC) • The Nature Conservancy (Conservancy) • University Consortium for Geographic Information Science (UCGIS) • Urban Land Institute (ULI) • US Census Bureau (Census) • US Department of Transportation (DOT) • US Forest Service (Forest Service) • US Geological Survey (USGS) National Digital Elevation Program (3DEP) • US Geospatial Intelligence Foundation (USGIF) • Urban and Regional Information Systems Association (URISA) • Western Governors Association (WGA)